McDonald’s Shakes Up Board with Three New Directors


Share post:

Three new directors are joining the McDonald’s board, while one veteran director leaves.
After serving on the board for 16 years and weathering Carl Icahn’s proxy battle, Sheila Penrose will step down on September 30.
Tony Capuano, the CEO of Marriott International, and Amy Weaver, the CFO of Salesforce, are among the new board members.

Image source- Eat This, Not That

Three new directors are joining the McDonald’s board, while one veteran director leaves.

After serving on the board of the fast-food behemoth for 16 years, Sheila Penrose, who chairs the board’s sustainability and corporate responsibility committee, will step down on September 30. She narrowly escaped a challenge earlier this year from billionaire Carl Icahn, who had targeted her seat in his futile proxy battle with McDonald’s over animal welfare.

Enrique Hernandez Jr., the McDonald’s board chairman, lauded Penrose for supervising the company’s progress toward its environment, responsible sourcing, and diversity, equity, and inclusion goals in a statement released on Monday.

Tony Capuano, Jennifer Taubert, and Amy Weaver were chosen as three new board members, and they will begin serving on October 1. The restructuring doubles the proportion of female members and increases the number of directors to 14.

Capuano has expertise working with franchisees because he is the CEO of Marriott International. He participates in the Business Roundtable as well.

Since 2021, Weaver has served as the chief financial officer of Salesforce. She formerly held the position of chief legal officer for the business. McDonald’s also emphasised her past employment at Expedia as proof of her digital expertise.

Taubert works for Johnson & Johnson as executive vice president and head of the global medicines division. She had held positions at rival pharmaceutical behemoths Merck and Allergan before joining Johnson & Johnson. Hernandez said that she will bring an important perspective on healthcare leadership.
The other 13 members of the board include executives such as Harald Krüger, the CEO of BMW Group; Craig Boyan, Walmart’s US President; and Susan Arnold, former J.P Morgan Chase chairwoman.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related articles

The Benefits of a Creative Subscription with Envato Elements

If you’re looking to find and use royalty-free images and other creative resources, it can be tough to...

Get an Additional ₹100 Cashback When You Pay with Domino’s Digital Wallet Partners

How does ₹100 cashback sound? Find out more about the additional cashback you can get when you pay...

Get Unlimited Access to DataCamp’s Library of Online Courses

DataCamp subscriptions enable access to over 300 courses, as well as projects, assessments, and additional content. Whether you're...

Why You Should Buy from DaMENSCH: The Best in Quality, Service, and Value

Buying products online can be dangerous; you never know if you’re getting an authentic product, or one that’s...